British Carpenters Jargon

General wood working tips, tricks and ideas. Anything that doesn't belong elsewhere can be discussed here.
Kacperoo

British Carpenters Jargon

Postby Kacperoo » Thu Sep 28, 2017 10:45 pm

Hi I am a student from Poland and i am on 3rd year of my studies ,at this moment I have to write bachelor's dissertation. My topic is "A comparative analysis of the professional jargon by British and Polish Carpenters."
The question is there anyone who could help me in Carpenters Jargon , also someone who is from Germany because i am preparing a table with tools in 4 languages to see is there some similarity in nomenclature. If there is someone who would like to help me please write a comment under this post or send me private message. ;)
Ps. If this post is in wrong category or group please let me know sorry if it is.

Meccarroll
Subscriber

Re: British Carpenters Jargon

Postby Meccarroll » Sun Oct 01, 2017 7:36 am

Terminology is the word you are looking for. I'd stick to British terminology if I was you, German carpenters talk a lot of Gobbledygook.

Kacperoo

Postby Kacperoo » Sun Oct 01, 2017 6:35 pm

Yeah but in Polish Carpenters Terminology there is a lot of borrowings from German language and the conclusion will be that there is no impact from english to polish and vice versa but more from German ( example : the word "Kerf" spelling of this word is the same like in German or French probably the pronunciation is different , in Polish this word is "Rzaz" . It is very important to me i dont have much time on 13th november i need to be ready with my work and only what i have is polish jargon and english terminology ( well known words for normal people like chisel or plane or mallet) and i need to find some pearls that only carpenters will understand :)

JonR
Occasional Poster

Postby JonR » Mon Oct 02, 2017 8:12 pm

How about roofing elements ? Common rafter/ jack rafter cripple jacks is that the kinda thing your after ?

Kacperoo