Sub contractor..

General wood working tips, tricks and ideas. Anything that doesn't belong elsewhere can be discussed here.
Stevib

Sub contractor..

Postby Stevib » Sun Jan 21, 2018 7:36 pm

Hi all i apologise if this isnt the right place to post this im not to savvy with forums.

I have been doing some work for a bloke sub contracting he has the contract with a bigger company and gets me to do a few jobs i am a carpenter.

I am having abit of trouble with him he is refusing to pay me what i am owed £540 i was on day rate. When he said he wasnt paying me i wrote a invoice and sent it to the person he has the big contract with explaining that he was refusing to pay me because of a job that wasnt related to the work i had done at these flats( other job was fitting some oak doors for someone he owed a favor to. I had a feeling he was going to refuse to pay me so i said i would finish the doors once he had paid me for the 4.5 days of work i had done at the flats. ) This miffed the person i was sub contracting for off and he has now ripped all the work out i have done saying it was rubbish he didnt give me the chance to go look at what he says is wrong with my work or give me the chance to fix what ever was wrong.

Do you have any advise as its the first time something like this has happened.

mark270981
Subscriber

Re: Sub contractor..

Postby mark270981 » Mon Jan 22, 2018 7:14 pm

Steve

Unsure from what you have written regards the ins and outs.

Do you have proof he has ripped out your work?

All sounds a bit of a mess, and I’m unsure why you sent an invoice to his client?

As a general rule we do the following.

Price job
Win job - get client to accept our t and c’s
Create drawing
Get drawing signed off
Build and install
Get job signed off
Invoice
Chase invoice
Receive payment.
--------------------------------------------------------------
ALOTBSOL

Mark - Sutton Coldfield

furynaturre
Subscriber

Postby furynaturre » Mon Jan 22, 2018 10:17 pm