Stick build or Factory system built timber framed house panels?

General wood working tips, tricks and ideas. Anything that doesn't belong elsewhere can be discussed here.
Roger-M
Subscriber

Stick build or Factory system built timber framed house panels?

Post by Roger-M » Wed Apr 25, 2018 11:21 pm

My daughter and son-in-law are about to build a timber framed house, and have quotes for both "Stick build" - where the frames are constructed in situ, and for "Factory built open panels" incorporating "I beams". What are the pro's and cons of each?

I have no experience in this, but my view FWIW is that if they were to go for the factory built panels, they would be flat and square, and would spend less time out in all weathers before the shell becomes waterproof. This could be very relevant as they are likely to be reaching that stage around October this year, just before winter kicks in, or in to winter if there is any over run. I suggested leaving it until next spring, but they cannot bear the thought of another winter in the house that is to be demolished to make way for it, and having stayed there I can understand that!

The downside is that the contract terms are rather more onerous for the system built panels. Understandable given that they will of no use to anyone else.

Downside for stick build is inaccuracies creeping in during construction, the frame being open to the weather - possibly for several months - and the risk of theft of materials left on site during construction.

Anyone any thoughts that would help them decide? The costs are very similar, but with the factory built panels working out marginally cheaper.
Cheers, Roger

mark270981
Subscriber

Re: Stick build or Factory system built timber framed house panels?

Post by mark270981 » Thu Apr 26, 2018 11:03 am

Hi Roger

I too looked at this method but for a large kitchen extension, the prebuilt panels are the way forward as it’s pre- planned and goes together like a flat pack.