Confidence crisis!

General wood working tips, tricks and ideas. Anything that doesn't belong elsewhere can be discussed here.
westymakes

Confidence crisis!

Post by westymakes » Sun Aug 09, 2020 1:29 pm

Hi all. I’m not totally new to woodworking, but I am new to trying to do it properly and trying to earn some money from it! I’m having a crisis, 2 broken bandsaw blades in 2 days. Am I asking too much of a cheap nasty machine, did I buy rubbish blades, am I just a ham fisted oaf? Made my own router table and recently it just seems to be snatching the wood out of my hands and launching it across the shed. I’m trying to use a bearing guided template cutter, and so far ruining more bits of wood than I’m managing to finish. Again, am I just being hamfisted!
Does anyone else have days like these? I seem to have had 3 in a row now...

woodsmith
Subscriber

Re: Confidence crisis!

Post by woodsmith » Sun Aug 09, 2020 8:23 pm

The problem with the router table sounds like you are climb cutting, which is cutting with the spin of the cutter rather than against it. You need to feed the wood the opposite direction to your current direction. The other thing to note is that you don’t run any work between the cutter and the fence, always have the cutter more or less in line with the fence.
Keith

poodwecker

Post by poodwecker » Sat Aug 22, 2020 7:31 pm

I'm new to this too. I'd highly, highly recommend going on youtube look how to use those power tools. Even if you've used them successfully. Lookup "how to use <toolname>" and "<toolname> safety". Watch at least three videos of each. You'll gain something from each of them and you won't regret a single minute of watching them.