Which glue for which wood!

General wood working tips, tricks and ideas. Anything that doesn't belong elsewhere can be discussed here.
Russ59

Which glue for which wood!

Post by Russ59 » Sat Mar 23, 2013 9:04 pm

Hi, I have just joined this forum after reading through for a few days to get ideas of what's right and wrong with different aspects of woodworking.
I'm no professional so wont be able to achieve some of the brill projects some of you guys have made. I only have a 10' x 8' shed which I'm just changing into a proper workshop rather than a junk store.
Anyway what I want to know (will have more questions later) is what is the best type of glue for different woods, ie best for soft wood, hard wood, indoor use and outdoor use, or is there a glue out there suitable for all uses. Only ever used PVA glue.

I have always had an interest in woodworking since leaving school many many moons ago, since 1975 infact but now I have finished my fibreglass business I have a bit of time on my hands at making something of interest.
As I say probably more questions later.

Russ

promhandicam

Re: Which glue for which wood!

Post by promhandicam » Sat Mar 23, 2013 9:54 pm

Welcome to the forum Russ. A good quality PVA glue will work well for most woods. I'd recommend looking for a D3 PVA glue as this is water resistant - not for boat building but fine outside. The only timber that I wouldn't recommend trying to glue with PVA are oily woods like teak. The one issue with PVA is that it ideally needs to be used above about 15C (read the manufacturers guidelines) which might be a problem - particularly at the moment. If you are trying to glue wood at low temperatures then a PU wood glue would be a better option.

I hope this helps,

Mike Jordan
Occasional Poster

Post by Mike Jordan » Sun Mar 24, 2013 7:21 am

Hi Russ