Could Someone Recommend a good set of Wood lathe chisels?

Discuss hand tools here, its quieter and less dusty than the other sections.
twingall1

Could Someone Recommend a good set of Wood lathe chisels?

Post by twingall1 » Fri Jun 21, 2013 10:59 pm

Hi,

I'm just starting out wood-turning on a Clarke 20" wood lathe. One of the things i want to do is turn chess pieces from ebony/boxwood.
Trying to decide on a set of chisels and i need some advice. There seems to be a huge price range out there and a lot of choice. I want some nice quality chisels but i don't want to break the bank! (maybe £20-60 range)

Also, using these two examples (one is £13, the other £50), can someone give me a breakdown of the difference in quality?

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/8pc-BRAND-NEW ... 58a13b6000" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/8pc-HSS-PRO-W ... 5d3a31bef4" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;

Many thanks,
Tom

woodsmith
Subscriber

Re: Could Someone Recommend a good set of Wood lathe chisels

Post by woodsmith » Sat Jun 22, 2013 7:17 am

The top set look very poor, rubbish in fact. The second set look much better but with turning tools it is mostly down to the steel as to whether they are any good or not. Poor steel will mean they won't take an edge and they will constantly need re sharpening and you will get lots of tear out.

The second set may be OK but you have no way of knowing until you use them. I would look for a known make, perhaps look on the bay for individual chisels rather than a set if you plan to just make small pieces.
Keith

tusses
Subscriber

Post by tusses » Sat Jun 22, 2013 7:49 am

as above ..

new cheap sets will most likely be very poor quality steel.
I'd either go for a good branded make, or very old tools that are still being used (or recently still used :) )

colincott
Regular Poster

Post by colincott » Wed Dec 11, 2013 5:30 pm

Hi,