variable speed

If the work spins rather than the tool, this is the place for you.
Post Reply
jayman
New Member
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon May 12, 2014 8:34 pm
Contact:

variable speed

Post by jayman » Wed Sep 03, 2014 6:33 pm

Hello to all can anyone tell me if it is possible to convert any lathe to a variable speed lathe
Thanks to all

User avatar
Doug
Subscriber
Posts: 2516
Joined: Thu Nov 20, 2008 8:52 pm
Location: location location
Contact:

Re: variable speed

Post by Doug » Wed Sep 03, 2014 9:12 pm

Theoretically yes, whether it's worth it is another thing, it usually involves swapping the single phase motor for a 3 phase & the connecting it to an inverter.
Speed Genie will supply a motor pre-wire to an inverter I believe, other companies also offer this service.

jayman
New Member
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon May 12, 2014 8:34 pm
Contact:

Re: variable speed

Post by jayman » Sun Sep 07, 2014 9:08 am

Many thanks for your reply is more cost effective just to buy a new lathe????

User avatar
Doug
Subscriber
Posts: 2516
Joined: Thu Nov 20, 2008 8:52 pm
Location: location location
Contact:

Re: variable speed

Post by Doug » Sun Sep 07, 2014 1:41 pm

jayman wrote:Many thanks for your reply is more cost effective just to buy a new lathe????
It depends on the lathe, if you can pick up a decent second hand lathe, like a graduate, at the right money then it would be worth it. It's fairly pointless converting a cheap Chinese lathe, most of the folks I know who've gone down the conversion route had done so on old heavy cast iron machines.

7sheds
New Member
Posts: 14
Joined: Sat Aug 22, 2015 10:51 am
Contact:

Re: variable speed

Post by 7sheds » Mon Mar 21, 2016 9:20 am

My lathe (Coronet) is 3-speed - obtained by moving the belt to different pulleys. I very rarely use anything but the middle speed. The only time it's really necessary to change is when turning really big bowls. So - is it worth doing?

Post Reply