Router cutter for CNC work in melomine

General wood working tips, tricks and ideas. Anything that doesn't belong elsewhere can be discussed here.
Meccarroll
Subscriber

Router cutter for CNC work in melomine

Post by Meccarroll »

Hi all, I'm currently expanding my working and theoretical knowledge of CNC Routers and am starting to look at the practical uses of the machine. One practical use would be machining cabinet profiles out of melamine faced mdf or chipboard. In my early days as a carpenter I tried using High Speed Steel router cutters for profiling melamine faced chipboard but they blunted very quickly. Does anyone know what type of cutter would keep it edge while profiling melamine faced chipboard on a CNC router?

Cheers Mark
cncpaul
Subscriber

Re: Router cutter for CNC work in melomine

Post by cncpaul »

Mark

The best cutter by far are Diamond coated, they can be the replaceable type or sharpen-able and very expensive but mostly used in mass production
The next type would be solid carbide either straight flute and spiral these come in up cut and down cut or compression, the later is a combination of up and down cut in one cutter these reduce the chipping on top and bottom faces.
I am not a lover of melamine faces chipboard cut on a cnc, it leaves a ragged edge to the chipboard, not great for edge banding. l have not tried the Diamond coated on MFC.
Small production of cabinets with MFC would be best suited to a good panel saw with a scribing blade giving a far better edge finish then use a cnc to machine drill holes and cutouts for fittings, melamine faced MDF would be fine to machine all the processes on the cnc.

My choice for Cutting Melamine faced MDF would be an 8mm compression cutter, this has an up cut tip around 7-8mm long, on a 18mm panel you would cut in two passes of 9mm this would but the down cut into the top face, the second pass would the cut the bottom face with the up cut portion of the cutter.
Paul